Happy vs. Sad

So it is a dreary overcast day and I am reading all of the articles about the shooting at the Holocaust Museum.  I am embarrassed to admit that I didn’t realize it had happened until I was on my way home yesterday, but it didn’t effect my commute (I use a different bridge with the Metro) so I didn’t think to much about it.  I have been very wrapped up in some Drama at work and I know that isn’t a good reason, but it’s the reason.

So, I open my e-mail this morning and had received a little note from my Mom.  She was just waking up in England and watching the News talking about the shooting and, again, she knows that I’ve been a bit stressed.  What I don’t understand, and have never understood, about her is that the below poem is her way of being affectionate.  This is not a rant for bitching and moaning because- as you can clearly read- it is all my own choice if I’m unhappy.  SO I’m going to go and skip to the cafeteria to fill myself a cup of coffee and make myself feel better about the meaningless existence that I’m living- Toodles!

                (to the author- I’m sorry, but I couldn’t find your name)
                                                             THE CHOICE IS ALWAYS YOURS
                                                             Being happy, being sad,
                                                              forgiving or staying mad…..
                                                              The Choice is Always Yours!
 
                                                              Wearing a smile or a frown,
                                                              Looking bright or feeling down….
                                                              The Choice is Always Yours!
 
                                                              Although at times it seems not true,
                                                              it’s always others that make you blue
 
                                                              Remember this….
                                                              whatever it is that troubles you,
                                                              how your react will see you through……
 
                                                              THE CHOICE IS ALWAYS YOURS!!
Leave a Reply

