Exercise #12

Happy Wednesday Once Again One and All!

Here comes the next installment in creaking the wall of writers block 😀 

Exercise #12- Write a letter to a friend.

Dear XYZ (sorry, but I can’t tellyou who this is to),

I wanted to write you a letter to let you know how I’m feeling since you’ve made it clear that you would like to reconnect with me by sending me note in Facebook.  As I told you when I moved out- we are no longer friends.  In our time, we were very close and there are moments and things that I will always treasure from having known you, but that will forever be overshadowed by your deception and lack of consideration for anyone around you.

Please don’t think that I’m ignoring my own abhorrent behavior during those years, I will forever regret a lot of things that I’d done and said, but let me be very clear that you were a large part of the stress that nearly drove me to commit myself.  You- my best friend- watched me struggle with my world and family crumbling around me and your only directive was to “get over it”.  You knew VERY well my feelings for our mutual friend, yet you couldn’t see past your own need to feel wanted and insisted upon sleeping with him in our dorm room. 

Let me be very plain- I was a bitch in those years and all that I can say is that I feel very badly about the collateral damage, but that was something that I didn’t see until quite a few years later when the clouds were lifted from my world.  The friends that I met in College were incredible and each and ever one of them has left me with some great memories and I can say 100% that the only ones that I have chosen to keep in my life are the ones who have shown that they are truly my friends.  I have asked their forgiveness for who I was and their only response to me was, “Why would we need to forgive you- we love you.”  Those are the people who I keep in my life and I’m sorry, but you are not one of them.

Please do not contact me again.

Simone

One thought on “Exercise #12

  1. Mrs. Batty says:

    Dear Long Lost One:

    As much as we’d like to pretend otherwise, we’ve grown apart over the past few years. You know what? Thats okay. You are who you are and I am who I am and neither one of us has traveled far down the wrong path… our paths have just diverged.

    All I ask is that you please stop pretending that we are as inseperable now as we were all those years ago when we did everything together. Its okay that we don’t know everything about the other’s life any more. Its okay that we don’t talk as often, but don’t pretend that we do.

    You will always have a very special place in my heart, I will always think fondly of you and I will always welcome you in my life, it will just be in shorter bursts and you know what, that may just be for the best.

    Always,

    The on you refer to as BFF

Leave a Reply

