Through the Looking Glass…

My mother commented the other day that the current US job market is most comparable to the mid-seventies, when she had just graduated from college.  Her recollection of having a degree and working two jobs, a waitress and a customer service desk employee at a Sears, hit very close to the situation that I’ve been confronted with in the past year.  I wish that I could do something iconic, like voicing the frustration of my generation, but I can only speak to my own frustrations.

This truly is a brave new world.  Millions of jobs have been lost and businesses and banks are closing around the world.  Large corporations are taking this opportunity to deflated bloated payrolls.  Banks are constricting and not lending money out at fast enough rates or taking any risks that would help start-up or small businesses.  We have left the wild west of credit with the new regulations on the lending industry and what are the lenders doing?  They are, for once, following the regulations to a “T”.  The entire country is suffering from a once bitten, twice shy mentality and people are very afraid that the next job lost will be their own.

I am among the many mid-level and entry-level corporate managers and workers wondering how to make ends meet.  Surfing the job boards on the internet is just depressing.  There seem to be a lot of three different types of ads on them:

1- High Level Managerial

2- Scams

3- Tech jobs

These are not jobs that I can qualify for without spending money that I don’t have and time that I don’t have on more education that may or may not help me to get the afore mentions jobs.  I was at the beginning of what could have been a moderately successful career and my position was eliminated.  Now I am alternately over and under qualified for 90% of the positions that I’m seeing and I’m happy, but quietly frustrated, as my younger brother and sister get their good starts in the world as they have graduated from college and gotten good jobs.

I’ve been numbed by both sides of the Economic Crisis argument.  I’m tired of the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer.  But I’m also tired of watching as people manipulate and milk the system for all of the money that they can.  I’m also really tired of watching all of the irritating Disney tween stars having such a great career for being bad actors and singing with auto-tune to songs that someone was paid moderately well to write for them, then deciding I think that I want to design some clothing now.

I truly wish for some sort of consensus and hope, because I’m starting to doubt our ability to find a way out of this.

Leave a Reply

