Exercise #22

Yes Cat’s and Kitten’s- I’ve ignored these exercises for nearly a year.  Thankfully, that is because I’ve been diligently trying to write my first book, which is a collaboration between me and Mrs. Batty.  I have not forgotten them!  I am skipping exercise #21 for the moment- can’t think of a damned thing to write for it.

Exercise #22-  Start a story about a dare.

“I dare you.” James whispered into Anca’s ear, brushing his lips softly against her cheek as he pulled his head back.  The hairs on the back of her neck stood up as though an electric shock had run through her skin.  If he could see her aura right now, he would see that she wanted to be back at his house in a more intimate setting instead of tromping through the woods toward what would certainly mean exile.  A breeze blew lightly through the trees that surrounded the manor and the two of them stood in silence in the deserted parking lot.

“I’ve already told you, James- no.  I don’t feel like going to the lake right now.  Can’t we just go back inside and catch the end of that Bond marathon?”  she met his gaze and tried to do her best puppy dog eyes at him, “Anyway- I got you a present, but you wouldn’t be able to appreciate the lace at the lake- it’s too dark.”  James raised an eyebrow and moved closer to her so that they were face to face.

“You and I will have to have a word about that a little later- nice girls such as yourself shouldn’t be wearing such naughty things and I, as the older gentleman, will have to help you to remove them, but you haven’t answered my challenge.  I dare you to go into the cavern and borrow the grimoire.  Unless you’re truly alright with the idea that Jemma’s ghost will see us en flagrade delecto.” James had wrapped his arms around her as he spoke and was now holding her tightly.

“James, that’s not fair.  You know why we can’t have that.  My mother would put us both in jail or have us thrown out of town if she knew that we were still seeing each other!”  she pulled away from him and tried to hide her fear, “You know that what you are asking could mean exile for us both if we get caught, right.  Are you truly willing to go that far?”

“I wish that there were another way.  The grimoire in the cavern of the source is the only one that contains an exorcism ritual that will work on that bitch- she’s too damned stubborn to be sent on by anything weaker.  Believe me, I’ve tried.”  James could see that he needed to do something more to convince her, but his arsenal was nearly empty.  Out of the corner of his eye, he saw movement on the sprawling front lawn followed by a dark figure with a glinting belt buckle.  Jarvis was spying on them.

“You’re right.  We can’t break into the cavern- I don’t know what I was thinking.  What do you want to do?  The restaurant is closed for the night, the grille is closed, and all of your friends are either drunk or asleep.”  He knew that they had to get inside before Jarvis could tap into Anca’s thoughts and figure out his plan.

“Come on, let’s go in a watch Bond.  Anyway, you have a present to unwrap.” she kissed him lightly and took his hand in hers, leading him back toward the front door to the manor.  James took one last look toward the lawn and the dark figure seemed to have gone back into the night. “I was thinking, and-” Anca paused as she opened the front door, “there’s more than one way to get hold of that grimoire and it doesn’t involve stealing it.”

Leave a Reply

