Death, The Tower, and Change

ImageI find myself thinking quite a lot about change recently.  There has been change in my personal life, change in my professional life, change in my country, and change in the world.  I ask my ceiling many nights if this is how people living through the Civil War or both World Wars felt day in and day out as the world seemingly collapsed around them.  I find myself wondering- what is security?  What does it now mean to have a stable life?

These may seem like silly questions, but I am confident that there are millions of people in the world asking the exact same thing.  Global and social change has been rampant for the past 50 years at a mind boggling pace that is only speeding up and we are living in a time where the Darwinian adage of adapt or die is glaringly evident.  Long gone are the days when you can presume to pledge your professional loyalty to any one company.  Long gone are the days when divorce was rare.  Long gone are the days of thinking that the nuclear family is the pinnacle of a successful and happy life.  So I ask, now what?

With uncertainty tainting everything around us, how do we continue to evolve, to strive, for something more?  This turbulence is nothing more than a blip on the radar of history, no matter how harsh the world seems at this moment, and there are no guarantees that anything will get “better”, but there surely will be a new normal when this wave is done.

Another pivotal election faces the USA, there are pseudo-nazi’s marching in Greece, the European economy (though not as bad as during the Great Depression) is in shambles and in-fighting looms dangerously over every Presidency and Dictatorship.  Will there be another world war?  Sadly, it seems quite possible at this time and I am not confident that we have learned the lessons of the past century well enough to avoid it.  Maybe it will be a war of sanctions, maybe it will be something else, but I cannot see anyone launching a military offensive like WWI and WWII, simply because both sides will annihilate each other too quickly.

What I see, and pray will not be the case, is that a lot of good intentions and hard line policies will create a new type of economic catastrophe and that this will span the globe.  As much as I am loathe to make comparisons, Atlas Shrugged is a good cautionary tale for the leadership of the world.  Men, women, and children need hope.  They need to be able to see a future for themselves, for a family, in order to be happy.  We need to strive for something or we will fester and die because we no longer see the point.

That is all- my rant is done.

5 thoughts on “Death, The Tower, and Change

  1. John B says:

    If I can give you a ring to keep, a home, and half my money, and require NO sex….would you marry me? Your brain is that of a woman that every man secretly holds in their dreams. A woman with which to spend your life, your time, your days, your nights, and, most importantly, your thoughts. I am constantly amazed and uplifted by your words. All the best, always, my dear.

    • Simone Ludlow says:

      No ring would be necessary, but I would never subject you to the torment of putting up with me! 🙂 We need to get you out of Miami to find some “different” women Booze.

      • John B says:

        Aww…don’t sell yourself short! I’m sure your idiosyncrasies are what make you both unique and desirable. “Putting up with you” would never be an idiom I would use to describe you. But, I agree with your assessment. Miami may have beautiful women, but as they say, “all the good ones are taken”. The vast majority of the single ones are unadulterated TRASH… as well as clinically NUTS! Miss you bunches, Madame. My heart sends you nothing but good vibes eternally!

      • Simone Ludlow says:

        tee hee- I totally just got a giggle from reading “don’t sell yourself short.” It is true- I am 5’3″ on a good day if I’m standing up really straight in heels!

      • John Bouzon says:

        Tee hee. So, in more than one way, don’t sell yourself short. Ha ha!

Leave a Reply

