One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Friday One and All!  Aside from realizing as I googled images for this post that Jack was a VERY handsome lad in his youth, it dawned upon me that many of the group therapy scene images resemble my home when there is an open bottle of wine or two.  What brings on this ode to Mr. Nicholson you ask?  Well, not Jack.  I checked in on the site today and saw that yesterday I had gotten 1275 hits all searching the name of Nick Stahl and his wife (ex-wife?) Rose Murphy.

According to the Huffington Post and many other news outlets- actually, many more than I would have expected to pick up this story- reported that Rose had filed a missing person’s report on Nick this past Monday.  One site was saying that an unnamed source said simply that he does this some times and he will be back, where the headline mentioning Skid Row as the last place he was seen is floating around the rest.

I honestly feel pretty bad for his family, they must be going out of their minds, but I just have to say that it must be nice to simply be able to wake up one day and check out of your own life.  It would be one thing if nobody had noticed that the man had run away, but there is no foul play suspected and it appears that he was having difficulty and decided to get up and run away.  Seriously?!  I have no sympathy for this.  There were sooooooo many moments in the past 10 years that I wanted to do exactly this- to just walk away- and guess what, I didn’t have that option because as an adult you have obligations.

I digress.  So, I end up seeing over a thousand hits by people searching the web for his name and I will admit that I’m surprised.  Aside from Terminator 3, he pretty much stuck to non-blockbuster projects.  Hell, I have to hunt down some of the movies this guy has done!  There is a special place in my heart for Mr. Stahl- we share the same birthday, therefore, my fellow Sagittarius will get my support, well, that and I like him as an actor, but I still can’t get it out of my head that if the reports are true (not yet proven), the man walked away- just left.

There is something to be said for being the person that fights against all odds for anything as well as knowing when to throw in the towel and move on, but how do you determine when to do either?  I would hope that I’m not the only one out there, but there are at least 4 pivotal moments since the winter of 1997 that I can remember vividly during which I really should have been able to have a nervous breakdown.  I didn’t have that luxury; there was a real world to deal with at the same time.  What would drive someone to the point where all of the people, places, and things that you are no longer matter and you can disappear?  Granted, it really isn’t that hard to disappear.  Well, maybe Nick is having a little harder time, but let’s face it, he’s not THAT widely recognized outside of LA.

This entire thought process, of course, brought me to thinking of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.  It was a bit of a toss-up with the Shining, but the image in my mind was of Jack Nicholson looking nutty because Stahl frequently reminds me (in image) of a crazy Jack Nicholson.  The questions that I’m left with, and will probably never get answered are these:

1. Why would you just walk away and how did you pull it off?

2. Is this really how you deal with the world falling apart around you? Really?!

3. Did you meet Bigfoot while hiding in the Pacific Northwest with an aged DB Cooper?

Leave a Reply

