Do You Deja Vu?

The sense that you’ve seen something before, deja vu…..  I’d like to think that I’m a pretty down to earth kind of person, but there are a few things that I just can’t figure out, or perhaps I do not want to figure them out.  Deja Vu is one of those.

 

 

Here is a really interesting article from Psychology Today that discusses this as it related to memory (CLICK ME).  My only reason for thinking about this subject is related to my dreams.

Last night I had a dream.  I was awoken in my bedroom, a room that I haven’t lived in yet, though I knew that it was mine.  All of my licence plates were displayed on the wall, bent into the crease between the ceiling and the wall like a bracket and each one had a congee symbol stamped upon it.  The Japanese water-colors that my mother gave me were also prominently displayed with the wood-prints of  the kabuki theater that my father made.  There was memorabilia all over the walls and I’m not sure where it was all from, but I knew that it was my life.

I stirred from sleep and there was a man.  He was standing in the corner, staring at me.  I knew that this was an abnormal moment, but for some reason I wasn’t afraid.  The man was trembling and calm.  I said hello groggily and he responded with hi.  There was a long moment of awkward silence before I asked him what was going on.  He then asked me to tell him about all of the pictures and paintings that were hanging on the walls, focusing on the Japanese prints- where had they come from, what were they, what was the story behind them all.

As we were talking, my roommate (a woman that I don’t know yet) came into the room to see if I was alright because she’d heard voices.  She saw the man and gave me a look saying, “Go get him!”  The universal girls thumbs up sign and then she left 😉  He and I stared at each other and then he took my hand and held it to his chest like a child hugging a teddy bear.  That’s when I woke up.

I have no idea who this man was, I didn’t recognize him from any pictures or people that I currently know and I don’t know why he was so scared.

I’m not a big fan of dreams like this for a couple of reasons.  Firstly, they are really hard to shake.  I can’t do much with them other than replay the scene in my head and this rarely leads me to a better understanding of the dream outside of the obvious elements.

Secondly, I really dislike deja vu.  When I was younger, I guess that it held some sort of magic, but now it’s just irritating.  I can remember very distinct dreams and the moment that I felt as though I had seen it again, but each time it was something that made me say- well, damn, I should have remembered this and not done that.

The last dream that I had to give me this feeling was a few years ago and it stared a crazy red headed woman who made me squirm to be near her.  So, who should turn up later than year, but my new crazy red haired boss.  Had I honestly remembered this dream when they were making me the job offer, I can’t deny that I’d have had second thoughts.  But, it wasn’t until I was already pretty well entrenched in a bad situation that I even thought about it and it was the feeling of the moment that made me remember the dream.

I write these things down so that I can go back and re-read them in an attempt to figure out what was going through my head at the time.  And maybe, just maybe, one of these days I’ll be able to do more than spectate.  What about you?  Have you ever had an extremely strong sense of Deja Vu?

Leave a Reply

